The Details tab is where the patient’s personal details are kept and edited.
It is split into three sections:
Enter or edit a patient's personal details here.
Ethnicity - From a drop down list for NHS Transmission purposes
You can add up to 2 additional custom fields here from Settings > Practice > Other > custom fields & charting. If you require more than 2 additional fields, you can do this from Settings > Practice Settings >Custom fields tab.
Address & Phone
Doctor - From a searchable list configured from the Settings Menu in Contacts
Occupation - From a searchable predefined list
The Nationality options on the phone numbers will insert the correct dialling code for the country selected.
Please note, SMS messages will only be sent to the number in the Mobile field.
Please note: if a mobile or email is returned automatically saying number or email unavailable, the preference is automatically set to NO. If you see a mobile number or email and the preference is set to NO please check that the number or email is correct, and that the preference is set correctly.
Location - the usual location the patient attends. This allows you to automatically assign the correct Dentist and Hygienist from that site.
Payment Plan - select from the drop down list
Dentist - select the patient's dentist. This is important for recalls, and appointments. Adding the Dentist ensures continuity of care and automatically assigns the patient to that Dentist. This will be the Dentist automatically assigned for Dentist Recalls.
Hygienist - assign a Hygienist to the patient for continuity of care. This will be the Hygienist automatically assigned for Hygienist recalls.
Receive Email - Do patients wish to receive emails from you? If yes, there must be an email address in their record.
Receive SMS - Do patients wish to receive SMS texts from you? If yes, there must be a valid mobile number in the Mobile field.
Please note: If a patient is sent an email or SMS and it is returned as undeliverable, the patient email or SMS preference is automatically set to NO. The patient will no longer receive emails or SMS messages. Regular checks that numbers and email addresses, and preference are correct will keep this option up to date.
Marketing consent - does the patient want to receive non-clinical updates and news.
Dentist Recall interval - this is set at the end of each course of treatment by the Dentist. If it is not set, it is automatically set to 6 months for a new patient, but can easily be changed here.
Next Dentist Recall - Calculated from the patient’s last Exam appointment and can be changed here. Usually set by the Dentist as they complete a course of treatment / Treatment plan.
Hygienist Recall interval - this is set at the end of each course of treatment by the Hygienist. If it is not set, it is automatically set to 6 months for a new patient, but can easily be changed here.
Next Hygienist Recall - Calculated from the patient’s last S&P appointments and can be changed here. Usually set by the Hygienist as they complete a course of treatment / Treatment plan.
Recall method - The patients's preferred option when sending recalls
Acquisition source - This shows how the patient found the practice. From a configurable list in the Settings menu, under Contacts
Add a Patient Profile picture
Once you have saved the patient's details, you can also add a picture if you wish by clicking the coloured square beside the patient name at the top of the tab.
You may upload a picture of a patient if you choose
Upload a new photo requires you to have an image stored on your computer.
Automatically linked to an online presence - the patient's email address is linked to an online account (eg, Google or Microsoft account) set to share their chosen image. This has been consented to by the patient.
Click ‘Save’ after you have changed any of the patients details.
As you make changes to the patient's details, the save button turns blue, visually reminding you to save your changes.
If you try to leave the screen without saving your changes, a pop-up box will ask you to confirm that you wish to leave without saving changes. Click Cancel. and then click Save.
Custom fields for patient details are created in Settings > Practice >Custom fields. You access the custom fields, so that you can complete them here in the Custom Fields tab.
More information about how to set up Custom Fields for Patient Details is in our support web page here.
The More Menu
The More menu contains the options of Archiving the patient, Merging the patient’s records with another on the system or Adding a Family member.
Merge Patient allows you to merge 2 patient’s records together if a duplicate has been created. This is available for users with Permission Levels 3 and 4 only.
You can find out more about merging patients on our web page.
Add a Family Member allows you to quickly add a new patient with some information copied from the currently open patient’s record.
Archive Patient takes them out of the day to day system but keeps all their information stored. They can be searched for still by typing an asterisk (Shift 8) in front of the details when searching. The record can then be unarchived if required.
Delete record .... allows those with Level 4 (administrator) permission levels to delete the patient record.
The Call button
You can now call patients directly from Dentally. See our How to call from Dentally web page to find out more.
The Patient Details Record update
Along the bottom of the patient’s ’Details’ tab is box that informs you of who last updated the records and when the patient was first added the patient to the system.