In order to delete a payment, you must either have Permission Level 4 - (Administrator) access, or have "Can delete payment" set in Settings > Users > Security.
To Delete a Payment
You can delete a payment by following these steps:
Navigate to the patient’s account tab
Click the bin icon on the corresponding payment
If the payment has been explained you will need to remove the payment explanation before you’re able to delete the payment.
If the payment is explained against an invoice and has a green tick, the first click on the bin will remove the explanation and return the invoice to unpaid.
Clicking again on the bin by the unexplained payment will delete it entirely and adjust the patient’s balance accordingly.
Please note, if you have integrated Dentally with your Xero account, you will have the Payment Locking option activated, which prevents payments from being removed once the payment date has been past.