Permission levels describe the amount of access a user has when using Dentally. We have overall Permission Levels, and the ability to customise permissions..

Overall Permission Levels 

0 - No Access (Access Level 0)

This option means the user will have no access to the system. This User level is useful for when a member of staff leaves as it removes their access from the system but keeps their activity log for future reference. 

1 - Reception (Access Level 1)

This access level is usually reserved for receptionist or clerical staff, this level allows the user to check calendars add appointments, make payment on the system and view all patient details.

2 - Standard Practitioner (Access Level 2)

Level 2 is the level for a standard practitioner. It includes all level 1 functionality. This allows any dentist or hygienist to access the chart and add treatments to a patient’s records, create and update treatment plans as well as creating estimates. Access level 2 users can not see any practice financial reports.

3 - Practice Manager (Access Level 3)

Level 3 is recommended for Practice mangers and includes all the functionality of level 2. Additionally they can see the practice financial reports. 

4 - Administrator (Access level 4) 

Level 4 is recommended for owners or administrators as it allows all functionality.

Level 4 users can edit and add NHS contracts, delete estimates, change pricing and edit all the settings.

Customised Permission Levels

In addition to the overall permission levels, those with permission Level 4 (administrator) can grant additional permissions to individuals.

The additional permissions are:

  • Allow the bulk editing of appointments
  • Allow invoices to be deleted
  • Allow payments to be deleted
  • Allow patients to be merged
  • Prevent the discounting of treatments. Users with this will be allowed to increase the price of a treatment when charting (for things like lab bills) but will not be able to decrease the price of a treatment from its default price
  • Hide statistics on the dashboard. This is the only one that can also apply to level 4 users should they wish to not see the dashboard when logging into their account.

How to add permissions to levels 1, 2 and 3

A user with Permission Level 4 (Administrator) can make these changes to other users.
Go to Settings > Users > Edit > Security and tick the boxes to give or deny the additional permissions and functions you wish this member of staff to have.

How to change user permissions for a Level 4 user.

Users with Level 4 Permissions (Administrator) can change whether they can submit NHS claims, and whether they want to see the statistics on their dashboard as they log in.
This is found in Settings > Users > Edit > Security.


Did this answer your question?